Field work is an essential component for all Environmental Science students. USC International has given me the opportunity to gain this experience on the wild side, working in Kruger National Park – South Africa.

I am currently half way through my placement at Kruger Park and have gained experience in many different types of field work including, vegetation surveying, hydrological data collection, fire regime management, veterinarian research projects, and maintenance within the indigenous plant nursery.

Working within Kruger has been a surreal experience, being able to interact with the amazing wildlife and people that South Africa has to offer, while also participating in field work and gaining international experience.

This placement has provided me with essential skills that help compliment my degree, and also the opportunity to experience international travel.

 

Alannah Wigg

